New York Post, on Gaza, 9 October 2026

8.7out of 10Severe

—

Tap a highlight to see why it matters.2 findings

The Israel Defense Forces announced Thursday that it had killed two Hamas terrorists in two separate airstrikes in Gaza City this week, including a commander involved in holding three Israeli hostages during the war. Muhammad Yazji, a commander in Hamas’s Shati Battalion, was killed in an airstrike in the Gaza City area on Monday, Oct. 5, according to the military. The IDF said Yazji had been involved throughout the war in holding Israeli hostages in the Gaza City Brigade’s area of operations, including Emily Damari, Romi Gonen and Matan Angrest, all of whom were subsequently released from captivity. 4 Muhammad Yazji, a commander in Hamas’s Shati Battalion, was killed in an airstrike in the Gaza City area on Monday, Oct. 5, according to the military.

IDF 4 In a separate airstrike on Tuesday, Oct. 6, Israeli forces killed Muhammad Gamal, , in the Sabra neighborhood of Gaza City. IDF Damari was abducted from her home in Kibbutz Kfar Aza during the Hamas massacre on Oct. 7, 2023, while Gonen was kidnapped from the Nova music festival near Kibbutz Re’im. Both women were released on Jan. 19, 2025, after 471 days in captivity. Angrest, an IDF soldier, was abducted from his tank near Nahal Oz during the Hamas attack.

Explore More Teacher at elite $33K private school groomed, sexually assaulted boy on class trip: cops Left-wing politician Hitler Mussolini becomes town’s mayor Former UN human rights chief wins Nobel Peace Prize His three crewmates—Capt. Daniel Perez, Staff Sgt. Itay Chen and Sgt. Tomer Leibovitz—were killed. Angrest was released on Oct. 13, 2025, after more than two years in captivity. The IDF did not specify when or for how long Yazji was involved in holding each of the three hostages or whether he personally guarded them.

In a separate airstrike on Tuesday, Oct. 6, Israeli forces killed Muhammad Gamal, a terrorist who fought in Hamas’s Daraj-Tuffah Battalion, in the Sabra neighborhood of Gaza City. 4 Released hostages Romi Gonen, Emily Damari and Doron Steinbrecher are transferred to the IDF from the Red Cross on Sunday, Jan. 19, 2025. IDF 4 Former hostage Emily Damari and her mother reunite at an IDF facility in southern Israel, on Jan. 19, 2025. GPO Israel / IDF Spokespersons' Unit The military said both men had recently advanced plans to attack Israeli troops and civilians and had been working to rebuild Hamas’s operational capabilities in systematic violation of the ceasefire agreement.

According to the IDF, the airstrikes were carried out to eliminate the threats posed by the two terrorists. The military said precautions were taken to minimize civilian casualties, including the use of precision munitions and aerial surveillance. Israeli troops operating under the Southern Command remain deployed in the Gaza Strip in accordance with the ceasefire agreement and will continue acting against immediate threats, the IDF added.

Read the original article on nypost.com (opens in a new tab)
What we found (2)

The New York Post calls the two men killed in Israeli strikes terrorists in its own voice, in the headline and in the body, when its only source is the Israeli military. Its headline states as fact that one of them was involved in holding hostages. The body gives that claim only on the military's word and admits the military gave no detail.

  1. Labels people on one side's word

    Severe

    “IDF kills Hamas terrorists”

    Why this matters
    The headline calls the two men killed "Hamas terrorists" in the Post's own voice, with no attribution.
    The impression it gives
    A reader takes it as established fact that the men killed were terrorists.
    The context
    The body shows the only source for who the men were is the Israeli military's announcement. No independent basis is given. The Times of Israel, reporting the same IOF statement, calls them "operatives".

    How we know

    Show it in the article

    “a terrorist who fought in Hamas’s Daraj-Tuffah Battalion”

    Why this matters
    In the body, the Post labels Muhammad Gamal "a terrorist" as plain description in its own sentence, with no "the military said".
    The impression it gives
    A reader believes the Post has confirmed that Gamal was a terrorist, which justifies his killing.
    The context
    Everything known about Gamal in the article comes from the Israeli military. The Post repeats the label word for word in a second sentence with no attribution, and no other source is given.

    How we know

    Show it in the article

    Written straight

    Israeli occupation forces said they killed two men in separate strikes in Gaza City this week, whom the military described as Hamas members, including one it said had been involved in holding three Israeli hostages.

  2. Headline goes beyond the article

    Serious

    “including leader involved in holding Israeli hostages”

    Why this matters
    The headline states as fact that the man killed was a leader involved in holding hostages.
    The impression it gives
    A reader believes the Post has established Yazji's role in holding the hostages.
    The context
    The body gives the claim only as the IOF's word and admits the military gave no detail on when, for how long, or whether he guarded them at all.

    How we know

    • Elsewhere in the article“The IDF said Yazji had been involved”
    • Elsewhere in the article“The IDF did not specify when or for how long Yazji was involved”

    Show it in the article

    Written straight

    Israeli military says it killed two men in Gaza, including one it says was involved in holding hostages.

How other outlets reported it

Spot something we missed? Report this article

More from New York Post

Everything we scored from New York Post